It’s Monday, What Are You Reading – “Wonder” Edition

I had avoided picking up Wonder, because it came so highly recommended by… well… everyone. But, after hitting Scholastic’s warehouse sale, I found it there for 50% off, and I’m a sucker for a deal. So I picked it (and a jillion other books) up. When I got home, I made a pile of the books I was going to read, in order, and stuck Wonder at the bottom. I just didn’t think it could live up to the hype.

But, eventually, I made it through that pile of books and all that was left was wonder. That one blue eye staring at me. Daring me to pick it up.

So I did.

And I couldn’t.put.it.down. I was up entirely too late that night, absorbed in the story, the varying viewpoints, and the struggles that the characters faced. I didn’t finish it that night though, because well, I am five and a half months pregnant, and middle school teacher’s start early. So I forced myself to put it down.

The next day, I looked at it, and found that I was unable to pick it up. I had but a few chapters left, but I just couldn’t do it. I couldn’t make myself pick that book up and finish it. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to August, Via and everyone else. So it sat.

For a couple days. But I did eventually pick it up and finish it.

And now I’m sad. Because it’s been a week, I still miss them, and I haven’t found a new book to suck me in.

What are YOU reading?

It’s Monday What are you reading hosted by Teach Mentor Texts and Book Journey.

One comment on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading – “Wonder” Edition

  1. I absolutely LOVE this post and the way it’s written!! I read Wonder and so so so miss Auggie!

    The book that I just finished was Broken by Karin Slaughter-adult suspense! Now I’ve gotta get her next one, Fallen, because she hooked me into it with an excerpt!! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

